Glen Weldon, Writr

Writes about books & comics for NPR & elsewhere. Panelist on Pop Culture Happy Hour. Unauthor, "SUPERMAN: THE UNAUTHORIZED BIOGRAPHY."

Author of the forthcoming "THE CAPED CRUSADE: THE RISE OF BATMAN AND THE TRIUMPH OF NERD CULTURE," due 2015 From Simon & Schuster.

FOR FANS OF NERDS, KID SIDEKICKS AND CONSTANT, PHANTOM THUMPING LIKE UNTO THAT OF THE VERY KNOCK OF DOOM:

NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour Goes to San Diego Comic-Con.

This week, it’s our live show we taped last Thursday in historic room 26AB of the San Diego Convention Center, including a discussion of Nerd Privilege, What’s Making Us Happy, and quiz on superhero sidekicks.

Pursuant to said quiz, two of the photos above are offered as visual evidence of the correct answers. The other is of Thompson being Thompson, very Thompsonishly.

Hat tip to this Cracked article on old-timey heroes by Pip Ury for reminding me of Silver Streak and Yankee Doodle Jones, which, oy.

PS: Sorry about that constant thumping in the audio. Thompson thinks it was the restless spirit of Jack Kirby; I suspect it might have been that drifter I’d smothered and buried under the podium the night before. Or, more precisely: THE BEATING OF HIS HIDEOUS HEART.

These are the stunningly attractive and elegant and witty and ferociously intelligent people who came to today’s Pop Culture Happy Hour LIVE panel at Comic-Con. 

Also they smell of jasper and sandalwood.

If you’re in San Diego without a SDCC badge, there’ll be a PCHH meetup Saturday morning at 9:00 a.m. in Seaport Village, at the gazebo in the East Plaza. We’ll be there a few hours.

We are holding it there because “gazebo” is fun to say. Also so that we can bust out our Gilmore Girls LARPing outfits. 

I, of course, will be Emily. I’m always Emily; deal with it.

These are the stunningly attractive and elegant and witty and ferociously intelligent people who came to today’s Pop Culture Happy Hour LIVE panel at Comic-Con.

Also they smell of jasper and sandalwood.

If you’re in San Diego without a SDCC badge, there’ll be a PCHH meetup Saturday morning at 9:00 a.m. in Seaport Village, at the gazebo in the East Plaza. We’ll be there a few hours.

We are holding it there because “gazebo” is fun to say. Also so that we can bust out our Gilmore Girls LARPing outfits.

I, of course, will be Emily. I’m always Emily; deal with it.

The Batgirl Design Process

batgirlofburnside:

image

The new Batgirl design has been often credited to Cameron Stewart OR Babs Tarr but rarely to the both of them. The design process was in fact a collaboration with both artists contributing to the final design.

Cameron: When DC first approached me about taking over Batgirl as…

Where to Find Me at San Diego Comic-Con

(This is what I’ll look like. Except I won’t be smiling. Or waving. And my hand will look slightly less like a sea anenome.)

I’ll probably have some Pop Culture Happy Hour buttons on me, if that’s a thing that interests you.

*

Thursday, 2:00-3:00

Live Pop Culture Happy Hour Panel

Room 32AB

Me, Linda Holmes, Stephen Thompson and the great/ good/ redoubtable/ indefatigable Maggie Thompson as our fourth. Maggie and her late husband Don helped create comic book fandom itself, so while we haven’t planned out our discussion topics yet, you can rightly assume that at least one segment will involve me indicating the Great Teeming Nerdiness around us and saying, “This right here? Is ALL YOUR FAULT, lady.”

*

Thursday, 4:00-5:00

9th Annual All-Stars Comic Book Podcasters Panel

Room 28DE

Featuring John Siuntres (Word Balloon), Heath Corson (The Nerdist Writers Panel-Comics Edition), Calvin Reid (Publisher’s Weekly Comics World), Tim Beyers (The Motley Fool), John Mayo (Comic Book Page), and me.

John’s maybe the nicest guy in podcasting, with an old-school radio voice that makes you think of rich molten pools of something. Caramel. Gold. Gold caramels. Something.

*

Saturday, 9:00 a.m. -?

Pop Culture Happy Hour Meet-Up

Location TBD

Saturday morning we’ll be having a get-together to meet any locals who A. want to meet us and B. don’t have Comic-Con badges. Once Maggie and Stephen get to San Diego, they’ll case the joint that we’re hoping will host the shindig, so we should be able to officially announce the location by Tuesday. It’ll be near the convention center.

*

Various Times:

A Buttload of Batman-Related Panels

The first draft of the book’s turned in, but the revisions are gonna be hell, so I’ll be hitting as many of the many “75th Anniversary of Batman” panels as I can, to double-check my math. And to stand up and shout “J’accuse!” a lot. Prrrrrobably not that last thing.

*

Various Other Times:

SDCC Parties Wooooo

I didn’t make it to any of these last year, because 1. I had F and some other friends with me and 2. parties, gross. But this time out, I’m both loose of foot and free of fancy, so I will endeavor to fight off my urge to hibernate and get out into the hurly, if not the burly, of Comic-Con. So invite me to your party. I may not come, and if I do come I may just stand over the food table nervously shoving mini-quiches into my dumb face, but I promise I’ll try to talk to some scary strangers and maybe, just maybe, get over my damn self already.

*

Various Other Other Times:

Live Podcast/Comedy Shows

I haven’t taken an exhaustive look at the schedule yet, but I know several of the podcasts and performers I love will be performing around SD that weekend. Again, I didn’t get to them last time, but I do hope to make it out to see ‘em. The Nightvale/Thrilling Adventure crossover has sold out [EDITED TO ADD: NO IT HASN’T, YET AT LEAST, SO I’LL SEE YOU THERE, RIGHT?] but there’s a lot more out there to try. 

mudwerks:

(via ILLUSTRATION ART: PAPER, verse 1)

Because she would hardly even think about sneaking into your “den” while you’re napping and slitting your throat with a jagged broken beer glass to stop your ceaseless, senseless and insistently demanding behavior based on some antiquated fictional version of “married life” that you’ve carried with you inside your head all these years like a battered childhood teddy bear that never really meant anything to you anyway…


This is outrageous. Truly.

mudwerks:

(via ILLUSTRATION ART: PAPER, verse 1)

Because she would hardly even think about sneaking into your “den” while you’re napping and slitting your throat with a jagged broken beer glass to stop your ceaseless, senseless and insistently demanding behavior based on some antiquated fictional version of “married life” that you’ve carried with you inside your head all these years like a battered childhood teddy bear that never really meant anything to you anyway…

This is outrageous. Truly.